ro | en

Javier Peña Ibáñez

/ Member of the jury, Ephemeral, BNA 2023

He graduate from the Superior Technical School of Architecture in Madrid and is an acclaimed curator of architectural and urban planning programmes and events, researcher, professor and architecture and urban planning consultant.

He is the director of the International Festival of Architecture and Design CONCENTRICO, which he launched in 2015 and which focuses on carrying out projects against the background of the city’s architecture. He was the artistic director of TAC! Festival of Urban Architecture in Granada (2022); curator of the exhibition Madrid Diversa at CentroCentro (2022); curator of the exhibition A vision from Spain – New European Bauhaus in Brussels (2022); curator of the exhibition La Hoja. An intervention in the space of FAHR 021.3 organized by The Center for Contemporary Creation Matadero Madrid, (2021 to January 2023); director of the documentary Punto de Inflexión (2020), urban curator of La Forêt Monumentale Biennale in Rouen, France (2019); Experimenta Pontevedra Urban Design Festival.

Javier taught classes at Istituto Europeo di Design, University Francisco de Vitoria and DMAD and was a visiting professor at IESP Faculdades (Brazil), Cornell University College of Architecture, Art and Planning, Escuela de Artes de Oviedo (6th Interior Design Conference), The Architectural Association School of Architecture (London). He was member of the jury at Barcelona Building Construmat Awards organized by Mies van der Rohe Foundation and COAM Architecture Week in Madrid.

He collaborates with the Ministry of Transport, Arquia Foundation, La Rioja Government, La Rioja Architects Cultural Foundation, CentroCentro Cibeles, Matadero Madrid, the Official College of Architects of Madrid, Canal 180, Acción Cultural Española, Goethe Institute, The Czech Centre in Madrid, The French Institute, The Italian Institute of Culture, The Ibero-American Institute of Finland, the Superior School of Design in La Rioja, the Superior Technical School of Architecture at the University of the Basque Country, National Guild of Architects, AA Architectural Association School of Architecture, Istituto Europeo di Design, IESP Faculdades.